SFB 627: Nexus
home uni uni search search sitemap sitemap contact contact
unilogo Universität Stuttgart
SFB 627: Nexus
Institute of Parallel and Distributed Systems

Distributed Systems Research Group

Deutsche Version
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h. c. Kurt Rothermel

Universität Stuttgart
Institute of Parallel and Distributed Systems
Universitätsstraße 38
70569 Stuttgart

Tel. +49 (0)711 7816 434
Fax +49 (0)711 7816 424



- Context-aware Communication
Project A2 deals with innovative context-aware communication paradigms that can be realized based on a detailed world model. The goal of this project is to utilized this model in order to distribute messages selectively among users with a certain context.
- Hybrid Model Management
Project B3 focuses on the development of mechanisms for the management of spatial world models in hybrid network structures that comprise both infrastructure-based context servers and devices that are part of a mobile ad-hoc network. Based on the processing of spatial queries, the project investigates how under consideration of context quality and symbolic location models, spatial world models can be efficiently managed in such hybrid structures.
- Dynamic, Time-Referenced Model Data
Project B5 develops basic concepts to allow for the high dynamics of federated spatial world models. The project aims at the preparation and management of dynamic, time-referenced data as well as the efficient access to such data.
- Distributed Situation Recognition Based on Evaluated Context Information
The information demands of context-aware applications are prevalently application-specific and exceed that of directly observable context information by far. Project E3 focuses on the development of general concepts to identify application-specific situations (higher-level context) based on an existing distributed world model.


- Institute Head    
 - Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h. c. Kurt Rothermel   
- Research Assistants    
 - Dipl.-Inf. Tobias Farrell   
 - Dipl.-Inf. Dominique Dudkowski   
 - Dipl.-Inf. Frank Dürr   
 - Dipl.-Inf. Ralph Lange   
 - Dipl.-Inf. Lars Geiger   
 - Dipl.-Inf. Harald Weinschrott